th 10 edition
18th - 28th April 2018
Announcement
APRIL 15, 2014   Fun for all at the Have Fun, Play and Learn area! APRIL 15, 2014   Sing your heart out at our interactive workshops APRIL 15, 2014   Make your very own book APRIL 15, 2014   Theatre comes alive APRIL 15, 2014   Channel your inner artist at the SCRF 2017 APRIL 15, 2014   Enter our fabulous competitions and win great prizes APRIL 15, 2014   Discover the magic of storytelling APRIL 15, 2014   Meet your favourite cartoon characters in real life APRIL 15, 2014   Delve into the magical world of Maths APRIL 15, 2014   Literature Live: Hear your favourite books read by your favourite authors APRIL 15, 2014   SCRF: 11 days of fun-packed entertainment APRIL 15, 2014   SCRF 2017: 19th to 29th of April 2017, 9 am to 8 pm. Fridays: 4 pm to 10 pm APRIL 15, 2014   Free admission! APRIL 15, 2014   SCRF: Discover friends for life

About Sharjah

General Information

Sharjah is one of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates, which lies on the shores of the Arabian Gulf at the heart of the Middle East.  The Emirate is ruled by His Highness Sheikh Dr Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council and Ruler of Sharjah, whose vision is to develop Sharjah as a cosmopolitan city that preserves Arab cultural heritage and traditions.

It is one of the most culturally-rich places on earth and was named as the Islamic Culture Capital in 2014 for its remarkable contributions in preserving, promoting and disseminating Arab and Islamic culture at local and international levels. The emirate was selected as the Arab Tourism Capital for 2015 and was awarded the title of ‘Cultural Capital of the Arab World’ by UNESCO in 1998.

A knowledge and cultural hub, Sharjah houses over 30 museums across its 2,590 sq km area that feature art and artefacts from the ancient and modern worlds, and hosts large-scale cultural and literary events. It also promotes culture, arts, literature and literacy and learning through numerous projects and schemes.

Currency

The local currency of the UAE is the dirham, which is pegged to the dollar at Dhs 3.67. One Dirham is equal to 100 fils. Coins are available in denominations of 25 fils, 50 fils and 1 Dirham while notes are available in denominations of Dh5, Dh10, Dh20, Dh50, Dh100, Dh200, Dh500, Dh1,000. The country also offers a sophisticated network of banks and currency exchanges and ATMs.

Communication

The dialling code for the UAE is +971 (calling into the UAE). Local codes are as follows:
Sharjah, Ajman and Umm Al Quwain, 06;
Abu Dhabi, 02;
Dubai, 04;
Al Ain, 03;
Fujairah, 09;
Ras Al Khaimah, 07.
To call another emirate from within the UAE, use 0 and the corresponding number, e.g. to call Abu Dhabi use the prefix 02 *** ****. To call Abu Dhabi from outside the UAE, for example, use +971 2 *** ****.

Weather

Weather in the UAE ranges from daytime temperatures of 20-25C in the winter, to 45C+ during the hottest summer months. The best time to visit the UAE is during the winter, when the climate is perfect for outdoor activities. Balmy temperatures are experienced from the end of October through to April, despite the lower temperatures that occur in the winter.

Culture

Sharjah has a welcoming, all-encompassing, respectful culture. The UAE is a Muslim country and so visitors are requested to follow cultural guidelines relating to public behaviour and dress conservatively .

Transport/Getting Around

Sharjah Airport caters to numerous airlines, including Air Arabia, Air India, British Airways, Egypt Air, Etihad Airways, Jet Airways and Qatar Airways. For more information, go to www.sharjahairport.ae.

The Sharjah Public Transport Corporation (SPTC) known locally as The Road and Transport Authority operates buses and taxis in the Emirate. The bus service is known as ‘Mowasalat’ and the buses are a vibrant orange colour, so that they can be easily spotted. Taxis are readily available in Sharjah and are inexpensive. Pre-booking is available and special services for the disabled and for women and children are also provided. For more information, go to www.srta.gov.ae or call 600 52 52 52.

Language

The official language of the UAE is Arabic. Because of the multicultural nature of the Emirates, English is also widely spoken, along with Hindi, Urdu and Tagalog. Visitors will find that public information is often displayed in both Arabic and English.
 

Emergency Assistance

The emergency numbers are unified across the Emirates:
Police: 999
Fire (Civil Defence): 997
Ambulance: 998

الدورة 10
من 18 إلى 28 أبريل 2018
التنويهات
أبريل 15, 2014  أجواء حافلة بالمتعة والسرور للجميع في المساحة المخصصة للعب والتعلّم أبريل 15, 2014  غناء من القلب في ورش العمل التفاعلية أبريل 15, 2014  ألّف كتابك الخاص أبريل 15, 2014  المسرح ينبض بالحياة أبريل 15, 2014  تعرّف على الفنان بداخلك في مهرجان الشارقة القرائي للطفل 2018 أبريل 15, 2014  شارك في مسابقاتنا الممتعة لتفوز بجوائز قيّمة أبريل 15, 2014  اكتشف سحر رواية القصص أبريل 15, 2014  التقِ مع شخصياتك الكرتونية المفضلة على أرض الواقع أبريل 15, 2014  غص عميقاً في عالم الرياضيات الساحر أبريل 15, 2014  الأدب الحي: استمع إلى كتبك المفضلة فيما يقرؤها كتّابك المفضلون أبريل 15, 2014  مهرجان الشارقة القرائي للطفل: 11 يوماً من المرح والترفيه أبريل 15, 2014  مهرجان الشارقة القرائي للطفل 2018: من 18 إلى 28 أبريل أبريل 15, 2014  الدخول مجاني أبريل 15, 2014  مهرجان الشارقة القرائي للطفل: ابنِ صداقات تدوم مدى الحياة أبريل 15, 2014  من الساعة 9 صباحاً وحتى 8 مساءً و أيام الجمعة من الساعة 4 عصراً إلى الساعة 10 ليلاً

نبذة عن إمارة الشارقة

معلومات عامة

الشارقة هي إحدى الإمارات السبع التي انضمت إلى الاتحاد لتشكيل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتقع على شواطئ الخليج العربي في قلب الشرق الأوسط. يحكم الإمارة صاحب السمو الشيخ الدكتور سلطان بن محمد القاسمي، عضو المجلس الأعلى حاكم الشارقة، والذي تتجسد رؤيته في تنمية وتطوير الإمارة وجعلها مدينة عالمية متقدمة، مع الحفاظ على تراثها وثقافتها العربية الأصيلة.  

تُعتبر إمارة الشارقة واحدةً من أثرى الأماكن ثقافياً في العالم، وقد تم اختيارها عاصمة للثقافة الإسلامية للعام 2014 نظراً لمساهماتها المميّزة في الحفاظ على الثقافة والترويج لها ونشرها على المستوى المحلي والعربي والإسلامي. كما تم اختيارها عاصمةٍ للسياحة العربية للعام 2015، وحصلت قبلها على لقب العاصمة الثقافية للعالم العربي لعام 1998 من قبل اليونيسكو (منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة).

وتُعتبر وجهة ثقافية متميّزة، فهي تحتضن أكثر من 30 متحفاً تضم مختلف أنواع الفنون والقطع الأثرية من العالم القديم والمعاصر. كما أنها تنظم وتستضيف العديد من الفعاليات الأدبية والثقافية بهدف الترويج للثقافة، والفنون، والآداب، والتعليم.

العملة

تعتمد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الدرهم عملةً رسميةً لها، وقد تم ربطه بالدولار الأمريكي عند سعر صرفٍ يساوي 3.67 درهماً للدولار الأمريكي الواحد، ويتضمن الدرهم الواحد 100 فلس، وتأتي العملات المعدنية في ثلاث فئاتٍ هي 25 و50 و100 فلس، فيما تتوفر العملات الورقية بفئات 5 و10 و20 و50 و100 و200 و500 و1,000 درهم، وتمتلك دولة الإمارات شبكةً متطورة من المصارف ومحلات الصرافة وآلاف الصراف الآلي.

الاتصالات

يتألف المفتاح الدولي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من الرمز (971+). بينما تتنوع رموز مفاتيح المكالمات المحلية على النحو التالي:

الشارقة، عجمان، أم القيوين: 06

أبو ظبي: 02

دبي: 04

العين: 03

الفجيرة: 09

رأس الخيمة: 07

للاتصال برقم إماراتي محلي في إمارة معينة، يجب الضغط على الرمز المحلي للإمارة متبوعاً بالرقم المطلوب. فإذا أردنا الاتصال برقم في مدينة أبو ظبي، يجب علينا الضغط على 02 متبوعاً بالرقم المطلوب.

الطقس

تتراوح درجات الحرارة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بين 20-25 درجة مئوية في الشتاء، وتصل إلى 45 درجة مئوية خلال أشد أشهر الصيف حرارة. ويُعتبر فصل الشتاء الفترة الأفضل لزيارة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حين يكون الطقس مثاليّاً للقيام بالأنشطة في الهواء الطلق (الأماكن المكشوفة). ويتم الاستمتاع بدرجات حرارة معتدلة من نهاية أكتوبر حتى أبريل في أغلب الأحيان، على الرغم من درجات الحرارة المنخفضة التي قد يشهدها فصل الشتاء أحياناً.

العادات والتقاليد:

تتميّز الشارقة بأجواءٍ مبنية على الاحترام والترحيب بالجميع، وترتبط بشكل وثيق بتراثها الديني وهويتها العربية، ولهذا يُطلب من الزّوار مراعاة جوانب معيّنة تتعلّق بالسلوك والملابس المحافظة.

المواصلات والتنقل

يشكل مطار الشارقة الدولي نقطة تلاقي العديد من شركات الطيران بما في ذلك "العربية للطيران"، والخطوط الجوية الهندية، والخطوط الجوية البريطانية، ومصر للطيران، والاتحاد للطيران، وجيت ايرويز، والخطوط الجوية القطرية. لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى زيارة الموقع التالي: www.sharjahairport.ae

أمّا مؤسسة الشارقة للمواصلات العامّة، والتي تُعرف محلياً باسم هيئة الطرق والمواصلات، فتقوم بتسيير حافلات وسيارات أجرة (تاكسي) داخل الإمارة. ويُطلق اسم "مواصلات" على خدمة الحافلات ذات اللون البرتقالي الفاقع لتمييزها بسهولة. وتتوفر سيارات الأجرة في الإمارة بأسعار معقولة مع إمكانية الحجز المسبق، وتوفير خدمات لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة والنساء والأطفال.  للمزيد من المعلومات يُرجى زيارة الموقع التالي: www.srta.gov.ae أو الاتصال بالرقم: 600525252.

اللغة

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وبحكم التنوع الثقافي والجنسيات المتنوعة في الإمارات تُستخدم اللغة الإنجليزية أيضاً على نطاق واسع، بالإضافة إلى الهندية، والأردو، والفيليبينية. وسيجد الزوار أن المعلومات العامة غالباً ما تكون متوفرة باللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية.

المساعدة في حالات الطوارئ

تم توحيد جميع أرقام الطوارئ في جميع أرجاء دولة الإمارات:

الشرطة: 999

الإطفاء (الدفاع المدني): 997

الإسعاف: 998